Background decorative image


The Plenipotentiary Conference elects the Secretary-General, the Deputy Secretary-General, the Directors of the Bureaux of the Radiocommunication Sector (BR), the Telecommunication Standardization Sector (TSB), and the Telecommunication Development Sector (BDT), and the 12 members of the Radio Regulations Board (RRB) (see Nos 55 and 56 and Nos 62 and 63 of the Constitution).

The Plenipotentiary Conference also elects the 48 Member States that will constitute the next ITU Council (see No. 54 and No. 61 of the Constitution).

Time-limits and procedures
In accordance with No. 170 of the General Rules of Conferences, Assemblies and Meetings of the Union, candidatures must reach the Secretary-General not later than 23:59 hours (Geneva time) the 28th day prior to the Conference, i.e. Monday, 29 August 2022.

For detailed information on elections and election procedures, please refer to Article 2 of the Convention and Chapter III of the General Rules of Conferences, Assemblies and Meetings of the Union (see also CL-21/41).

A presentation on the election process can be found here.

Ethical guidelines
Council 2018 adopted ethical guidelines regarding campaign activities for candidates, which were then re-endorsed by Council 2021. These guidelines can be found here.

ITU News candidate interviews
ITU News will invite all candidates to submit answers to questions about their candidacies after the deadline for candidatures at the end of August 2022. The questions, along with information on the procedure, are available for each post: Secretary-General, Deputy Secretary-General, Director of the Radiocommunication Bureau, Director of the Telecommunication Standardization Bureau, and Director of the Telecommunication Development Bureau.

Right to vote
In order to be able to exercise their sovereign rights in full at the Plenipotentiary Conference, Member States must ensure that they have maintained the right to vote in accordance with Nos 169 and 210 of the Constitution and that the delegations representing them at the Plenipotentiary Conference 2022 are duly accredited in accordance with Nos 325 and 327 to 331 of the Convention (see also the Credentials section).

Previous elections
PP-18 elections